top of page

My monologue at Somic Ishikawa Inc

My monologue at Somic Ishikawa Inc

As of June 21st, after attending the General shareholder’s meeting, I have decided to retire from the executive committee of Somic Ishikawa Inc. I cannot appreciate enough to the co-workers at Somic for sending me off to for my new start. Over the time I spent at Somic, I have learned so much and yet, I was not able to give back as much to the company.

I have opened my laptop and started typing this article so that I won’t forget what I have learned here.

Somic Ishikawa Inc. is a family ran private company located in Hamamatsu-city, Shizuoka Prefecture producing ball joints for automotive. One might wonder why such a company have invited me to become their member of the executive committee. To answer that question, I would like to explain the reason and the story of how I have joined the company.

Just like human beings’ hips and shoulders have joint bones, automotive also have joints that connect the wheels and body. These are called “ball-joints” and Somic Ishikawa holds the No.1 share in Japan as well as the No.1 supplier for Toyota Motor Corporation(TOYOTA).

By producing screws from the early 1900s, Somic’s history goes beyond TOYOTA’s foundation. The year 2016, which I was assigned as the executive member of Somic marked the 100th anniversary for the company.

Going back to the history of our corporation, it was filled with episodes that illustrate the company’s mission, which is to “value the connection of the people”.

Adding to that, Somic ranks 3rd in the global market share for automotive ball joints. For example, We have recently created a joint company with German auto parts maker ZF Friedrichshafen showing how global minded Somic has been.

Somic is clearly the role model for a ‘glocal’ corporation.

For that reason, the level of corporate governance Somic had to secure was pretty high. With this opportunity and my experience at a global audit firm, I was invited to look after the transparency and sustainability of the company.

When I worked at the auditing firm, I specialized in supporting large corporation’s corporate governance.

This experience has definitely allowed me to gain knowledge and experience to consult these issues.

On the other hand, it was not easy to discuss with executive members who are 20 or 30 years older than me. Furthermore, the pressure that lives of 2000 workers is my responsibility made me stronger. One would require more than knowledge and experience to be an executive board at such a prestigious company.

Despite the stressful environment, I decided to stay as an executive member, since the period for Somic was important, and it was supported by tremendous trust by the people in Hamamatsu.

The current members of Somic has been working diligently to continue the culture it created, and to also inherit the achievements. This environment strengthened my determination to be a part of Somic and its history.

Throughout the period I was in Somic, we have created the Risk Management Department and also Compliance Committee that looks over the whole company. Although one and a half years was a short period, I am satisfied with the achievements and progress I have made in the company.

If by any chance, I get to be an executive member again. I will be sure to utilize the experiences and achievements I have made at Somic.

 

On the side note, while I served as an executive committee, a special TV drama called LEADERS II showed on television. In the show, there was a scene where Koichi Sato who played the main character passionately says

“What we are creating here are dreams.『私達はねっ⁈ 夢を創ってるんだよ!』”

I was strongly moved by the scene.

This TV series LEADERS II is based on the founding period of TOYOTA.

The first season LEADERS focused more on Kiichiro Toyoda(TOYOTA’s founder) struggles and achievements. Although I rarely watch dramas, I cannot deny that this particular show affected me a lot.

Because Somic was featured in LEADERS II, I especially sympathized with the main character’s words.

Once, I learned that the word sympathy is consisted of particles “sym” and “pat”, when linked together, means to struggle together.

Right now, I am working hard to make my dream come true, that is to create a baseball team in an individual league. The situation I am in right now overlaps with that of Kiichiro, and made my feelings even deeper.

Just as Kiichiro made his dream come true, I am determined to make my dream real.

The reason I was able to sympathize with this show was due to the experience I had at Somic and the automotive industry.

How Kiichiro continued to move forward despite the criticism and difficulties also encouraged me to struggle and thrive toward the dream to create a baseball team in Hamamatsu

Recently another dream was added to my list. That is for people at Somic to spread the words that a baseball team has been founded by an ex-Somic member.

One day in Hamamatsu, I hope to watch our team’s game with the members of Somic. I believe this is my way of giving back to Somic Ishikawa Inc. the time and experience at Somic has made my determination clearer and stronger.


特集記事
最新記事
アーカイブ
タグから検索
まだタグはありません。
ソーシャルメディア
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page